A Worker’s Ode to the GOP: Words in search of music


A firefighter/artist/songwriter named Morgan Thomsen sent the song below to a few friends, offering it to anyone who might be interested in putting it to music. If, like me, you are interested in the music of the US Labor movement, or anti-establishment politics, or a fair shake for workers and the ordinary citizen, then maybe you’ll see something worth promoting in it, same as I do. If you do, why, pass it on. Anybody got Pete Seeger’s email address?

 

“Your Constituent”

I’m that guy with the sign that you passed by.

With the pepperspray twinkle in my eye.

 

I’m that gal in the street with the bad back

With the double-wide by the railroad track.

 

I’m that “self-entitled” protesting kid

Paying twice the loans that my parents did.

 

I’m the one behind a machinist’s press.

Working twice as much getting twice the less.

 

AND I’m the teacher that you vilify.

Because your lobbyists told you to lie.

but I’m that preacher you can’t deride.

And I’m the creature you can’t divide.

 

(chorus I suppose if you were to make it a song)

 

And I guess that… living in this nation

I had this silly expectation

That to do the work I do

I’d make a fraction’s much as you.

 

And when I’m watching my T.V.

And you’re bashing folks like me.

All’s I see’s a dinosaur

We’ve already seen before.

 

(end of chorus)

 

You’re that one that has spun this crazy tale.

And sacrificed your son to no avail.

 

You’re the one who’s working daughter’s bled.

To educate her kids and keep them fed.

 

And You’re the one condoning those arrests.

And you’re the billyclubs in those protests.

 

And You’re the one who touts democracy.

But only when with you we all agree.

 

And so when we ask for a decent wage.

And it fills your empty heart with rage.

Just remember what your life would be.

Without all the the work of folk like we.

 

(chorus again)

 

And I guess that… living in this nation

I had this silly expectation

That to do the work I do

I’d make a fraction’s much as you.

 

And when I’m watching my T.V.

And you’re bashing folks like me.

All’s I see’s a dinosaur

We’ve already seen before.

 

(end of chorus)

 

(last verse)

 

I’m that guy with the sign that you passed by.

I’ll be voting and you’re going. Know why?

 

I’m that gal in the street with the bad back.

But my ballot won’t be cutting you slack.

 

I’m that “self-entitled” protesting kid.

With no blessing for your election bid.

 

I’m the one behind the machinist’s press.

And I’m the one who’s why you’re one vote less.

 

And I’m the teacher that you vilified.

And we’re tired of all those tricks you’ve tried.

I’m the preacher in the street you can’t hide.

I’m the American Worker that you can’t divide.

 

 

Morgan says, “There you go, if you like it it and want to use it let me know, I’ve written a lot of songs. I can provide a simple chord progression too but if you have a good player they can probably do it better!

In Solidarity!

Morgan”

Leave a Reply

